swumccrary

Just another WordPress.com site

Technology in American Classrooms Today July 11, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — swumccrary @ 10:54 pm

Title of Article: Through my Students’ Eyes

Author: Cheryl Oakes and Wes Fryer

Link: http://www.speedofcreativity.org/2009/07/10/through-my-students-eyes/

Summary:This was a very captivating article that shows that technology can and should be incorporated into any classroom. The author points out how much the integration of technology has a positive impact on the students learning success. These students in technology rich classrooms seem to be more engaged and motivated. Technology gives them an opportunity to be creative and in most cases, to reflect on their own learning or productivity.

There are many new concepts that I will need to learn more about after reading this article. I need to learn about a “Moodle site” and a “Ning”. I do feel very encouraged that 8th graders are currently doing these things in their classrooms, but feel that it is my responsibility as a teacher to make sure that I am up to date with technology as well.

I was very encouraged by this article. I have used flip videos in my kindergarten classroom before but never with as much ease and creativity as the teacher in this article. I want to be able to incorporate more technology into my classroom to encourage my students and to keep them motivated and interested. I am anxious to try some of the ideas I read about in this article for a kindergarten class.

 

Leave a Reply

